(Out of) LT

Three best friends and their summer adventures. Two – lost somewhere in the world and the third one, waiting for them to come back.

Edva. Call of the Sea (Part 1)

Leave a comment

Day 1. On my way

Finally This day has come…

First sun rays approach to the room. Early morning and alarm clock shouting the same Sunmi’s 24 hours track again and again. I’m feeling like leaving my one home which I don’t really like. Nothing’s holding me here even the memories about this place doesn’t look good. Just pack the stuff and leave. Run away before everybody knows, before everybody wakes up. The time is precious.

Outside the nest

From this very moment I’m on my own. My trip. My language and my experience. Feeling worried and excited at the same time. But the courage is stronger than ever. I have waited for this moment so long. Nothing to regret. It’s time to make it happen.

20140629_120347_HDR

Bus took me to the closest town if I even could give this name to a place which has two main streets and are located in the valley between the mountains. (Jucheon-ri)

On the bus stop an old lady takes care of me instantly. Strangers use to give a hand even if they see you for the first time. What can I say. Just like it as I like to feel secure. Even after more people gather she doesn’t stops to do that.

Another passenger carry two huge boxes of plums and when she offers some for my guardian the first thing she does is fastly turns at me and gives some too. Like a son. Of course giving a short explanation to an owner of the fruits. “he’s a foreigner… let’s give some of fruits to him”

Here is my bus. I didn’t knew this till the moment when I ask the same lady in Korean if this bus goes to next town of my destination. She quickly understands what I mean and just puts her hand in the mid-air by giving a farewell waving followed by a word “Ga.”

I’m on the second bus. It took me to the second town. But just to make it sure I’m constantly checking the maps on my phone. (Jecheon-si)

20140715_094850

I’m in the second town of my destination. About an hour left and I’ll leave for Busan. But first I have to find a bus terminal. Here my phones comes handy again. I already did it on my way here. I’m heading there and of course taking some photos of the building around since I’m a tourist.

20140715_095021

Here I found my self in the terminal. Now I need to buy a ticket but what to use my reading or speaking skills. Tongue took over the eyes and I’m standing at the lady behind the glass who suppose to offer me a ticket. My poor Korean again takes the place in this life performance. “Please give me a bus ticket at 11 o’clock to Busan.” Of course she gives me an answer fast. But this time there is a number in her speach. I had to understand fast but I failed. giving her only one banknote of 10.000 won. But still somehow I was able to understand when she just replies to that. “One more of this please” then just grabed a paper to write the amount but this time I’m faster by giving next banknote first.

20140715_095302

Now when the ticket is in my hand I have some time for deep thought and lunch. Two small buns and a bottle of water serves my as a lunch table this time. Not feeling sad just excited since this moment everything going just fine. I made 2 out of the 3 buses for my trip successfully and I’ almost on my way to Busan.

As I realised later phone is not the best ting to take photos.

Soon… Call of the Sea (Part 2)

Author: Edis Kim

Someone who studies Korean language but still don't know what he actually wants from life...Good luck on that...

Leave a Reply

