(Out of) LT

Three best friends and their summer adventures. Two – lost somewhere in the world and the third one, waiting for them to come back.

Ieva. First discoveries

Leave a comment

image

I was doing everything to avoid writing about my trip to Helsingborg. I read a lot. I watched a movie. I served my duty and talked to my mum (only with her this time as one of my brother is in a scout camp and another is our for a canoe – orienteering regata with dad). I was in the beach with Edgar today. Read more. Walked around the houre. Read. Surfed the Net. Surfed the Pinterest. Checked my email for a hundredth time. And I cannot find more excuses.  So here it is.

Few days ago Jessica asked if I woukd like to go to Helsinborg with her or Asle. They wanted to buy a scooter for Edgard as the one he already has is too big for him. I gladly agreed and mentioned that I’d love to walk a little bit there. I have already been in  Helsingborg, but we only road through it or went there for special occasions,  so I hadn’t seen a lot of.

Jessica drove me and Edgar to Helsingborg on the Saturday morning. We went to a toy shop for a scooter.  Edgar wanted a green one as green is his favorite color.  There were few greens, but the one he liked most was  definitely too small. And others were “too fast” as he explained, so we ended shopping candies. What was a huge surprise as I found out that 100 g of candies costs less in Sweden than in Lithuania. Unbelievable!!!

After that I was left alone in the center of Helsingborg.  I was showed where is Tourists’ Information Center and where is Central Station. Actually, it was my first spot – I took some maps and flyers about city. Then I sat down in a lovely “green island” in the square and made my route. And ate some cupcakes that I took from home. Some good, unhealthy homemade bakery – that’s what I longed for the first week here.

image

I knew only few objects that I wished to see – church, tower and City hall. And just walk and walk and walk as Helsingborg with its huge sidewalks,  beautiful green parks and a path by the sea. Gorgeous! Helsingborg is full of statues and sights, it’s a mix of old and new buildings, different people and expensive cafés. Yeah, I know, it’s Sweden. And I’m Lithuanian that is used to small wages and small prices. I cannot help myself converting krona to litas. My minds works like better than any calculator.

Okay, now, a little bit more about Helsingborg.  It’s v er y beautiful,  very tidy, very attractive. The only problem was… me. I love small towns, narrow streets and cozy cafés.  Helsingborg has many of tbe lasts, but not that many narrow streets. It looked too big for me. But still, I enjoyed every minute there.

image

The tower was pretty amazing. I love old buildings, so I walked slowly around it and even slower in it – to prolong that lively feeling of history. And the view from the tower was amazing! I would love to go there again.

image

image

When I had enough of Helsingborg… Jessica and Edgar had already left the town. As they have shown me where is the station, I had to find my way out. Jessica lent me her Scania JoJo card, with which I could travel cheaper and more comfortable, but still. One can fill JoJo card using some kind of automatic machine,  which, thanks God for Swedish internationalism, is available not only in Swedish, but in English as well. It wasn’t that hard to use it, but it goes for trains, busses and even boats, and I didn’t wish to end up somewhere in Denmark. Even when I had ticket in my hand, I wasn’t sure whether everything is okay. I waited for the bus, got in and said to the bus driver in Swedish: “Hey, I’m not local. Is this is a bus to Höganäs? ” He nodded.  “I have a ticket” said I as a total idiot. In a poor swedish (as he was imigrant) he explained me that I have to use my JoJo car,d as ticket is only for me and the card has information about my travel. Well, or at least that’s what I understood.

But! Bus drove to Höganäs.  Hooray,  hooray, hooray. And tomorrow I and Edgar travel to Göteborg.  Oh, my!

image

Author: Alatea

Looking at the days that passed, I cannot say to be happy for everything i did. I missed so many chances! I filled my days with ordinary stuff and let days to pass by. It's easy to forget that we live only once. And I would love to promise not to live like this anymore, to change, to follow my dreams. But it's not so easy. We live and make mistakes. Break promises. Forget what we said to remember forever. I'm not saying that i'm not willing t o change things. I am. But it's not that easy. I can only try.

Leave a Reply

