(Out of) LT

Three best friends and their summer adventures. Two – lost somewhere in the world and the third one, waiting for them to come back.

Ieva. Checked!

Leave a comment

image

Before coming to Sweden,  I surfed the Net for a few days and made a “Must see” list.  I saved it as a word and… didn’t bother myself more.  But,  people,  don’t trust in your computers. Trust in the Internet. Or old good notebooks.  Or notes. Or your own memory. Never trust in computer.  They tend to break when you need them most. I have experienced this a few times already, but it’s hard to learn from your mistakes,  isn’t it?

So now when someone asks me where I would like to travel, I shrugge my shoulders and say a boring and predictable answer: Stockholm, Göteborg,  Malmö.  And travel around he Re,  of course. Yup, that is… what anyone could say, even those, who don’t know anything about Sweden. But I studied Swedish (and Sweden) for 9 months already.  I should be original.

So when I was asked if I wanted to see Lund, I almost jumped. Lund! It was on my “Must see” list. I have heard a lot about Lund. It’s the oldest city in Skåne’s region – Lund is believed to be established around 990, when Skåne belonged to Denmark. Lund is famous for its old university and a huge cathedral, which is about 900 years old. And, despite this, it’s a very old town with lots of old buildings, streets and beautiful parks.

Would I like to see Lund? Who woudln’t?

We visited Lund on Monday (yeah, it took a lot of time to write this blog, but I have a perfect explanation – sea is only 10 minutes from me). It was a warm, sunny day – perfect for walking around. Oh, and Lund met us with a surprise – students celebrated their gymnasium’s graduation.  I’m not sure if you have ever seen anything like this. Our Swedish teacher have told us about their celebration traditions, but it wasnt exactly what I expected. They rode in tractors and trucks in white clothes and with white students’ caps with very very very loud pop music. Dancing, shouting and fooling around. They seemed very hapy when I took pictures.

image

As I said before, day was great. Sunny and warm – perfect for walking. This is exactly what I did for a hour or something. I made a huge circle around Lund. I visited a beautiful botanical garden, two or three parks (one with amazing playground for kids – Sweden has a great infastructure for them), tens of squares and alleys.  And, of course, Lund’s cathedral and university.

image

image

image

P. S. Hey, maybe someone knows more about university of Lund? Is it good? I would like to study in Uppsala or Stockholm as Erasmus student, but maybe Lund could work also?..

P. P. S. Sorry for pictures. I have only tab and it’s not very comfortable to edit pictures with it.

Author: Alatea

Looking at the days that passed, I cannot say to be happy for everything i did. I missed so many chances! I filled my days with ordinary stuff and let days to pass by. It's easy to forget that we live only once. And I would love to promise not to live like this anymore, to change, to follow my dreams. But it's not so easy. We live and make mistakes. Break promises. Forget what we said to remember forever. I'm not saying that i'm not willing t o change things. I am. But it's not that easy. I can only try.

Leave a Reply

