(Out of) LT

Three best friends and their summer adventures. Two – lost somewhere in the world and the third one, waiting for them to come back.

Ieva. Sweden National Day

Leave a comment

image

Today is Sweden’s National day. Here you should stop reading,   go to YouTube and listen for Swedish anthem “Du gamla, du fria”.Thank you!

I was warned by my Swedish teacher that Swedish do not celebrate their National day as much as e.g.  Norwegians. Or as much as Midsommar.  But it’s 6th of June is public holiday and this means that people are forced to notice why they are free on this beautiful summer day.

Of course,  maybe it would be different, if it were a beautiful summer day. Morning was beautiful – warm and sunny,  though windy.  It rained yesterday (just when we were out to cycle!), so sun gave me faith that today everything would be perfect. I wished to walk a little bit around and visit National day’s events in Höganäs.  I wished to much I guess. Above all thing I was warned about the weather here in Sweden. There are a few rules.  First, weather is topic no 1 here. Second,  weather is unpredictable.  It might be summer all around the world except Sweden.  Great,  isn’t it?

Morning was really beautiful, I even thought to go jogging (although my laziness won and I didn’t). But then wind started to blow, sky darkened and it became clear that my wishes would not come true.  What a pity! Anyway, we did what we have planned.  Asle came back from butique earlier to take me and Edgar to the event,  which was held in one of Höganäs parks. By the way,  Höganäs has some really beautiful and well organized parks.  Festival have already been started for a few hours,  when we went there.  But it was upon all my expectations.  There were a scene,  few tents with food and activities for kids. Some local talents were playing on the scene (by the way, one  performance with drums was were good!) and some locals were listening. And when I say some I really mean some.  I guess there were more people who attended Sweden’s embassy’s event in Vilnius than here in Höganäs… not kidding.  A few kids with their parents and some pensioners. Of course,  it rained,  but it was a National Day! A-National-Day.

It was explained for me that Swedish love a free day and love going out,  shopping,  visiting friends… And then in the evening they open a bottle of wine, have some sweets and mark National Day in a perfect simplicity.  It’s the Midsommar that they take seriously. On the other hand,  my Facebook is full of Sweden’s official page posts on how King celebrated National Day and how it was marked in Stockholm.  I wasn’t there and cannot know for sure,  but it looks like there people had a bigger celebration.

I may have expected more from this, but it was cool enough for my first Sweden’s National Day 🙂

Author: Alatea

Looking at the days that passed, I cannot say to be happy for everything i did. I missed so many chances! I filled my days with ordinary stuff and let days to pass by. It's easy to forget that we live only once. And I would love to promise not to live like this anymore, to change, to follow my dreams. But it's not so easy. We live and make mistakes. Break promises. Forget what we said to remember forever. I'm not saying that i'm not willing t o change things. I am. But it's not that easy. I can only try.

Leave a Reply

