(Out of) LT

Three best friends and their summer adventures. Two – lost somewhere in the world and the third one, waiting for them to come back.

Ieva. Swedish, Swedish and Swedish again!

Leave a comment

My first day in Sweden almost ended.  I found out quite a lot since the last time.  First of all,  my luggage was only 16 kg weight. That means I could have taken additional 4 kg as luggage and 5 as hand baggage. Oops! But that’s okay,  I’ll survive. Flight was great,  but I have never had any problem with flights.

Secondly,  it happened that my family is the best ones au pair could get.  Not kidding.  They are lovely,  helpful,  understanding,  and the kid is really cute and smart.  Today Jessica (the mother) worked for the first half of the day,  while I, Edgar (the kid) and Asle (the father) went for a little trip till Söderåsen National Park. It is so beautiful there! If not bearing my love for Vilnius,  I’m a real nature kid.  It was great to walk in a beautiful forest and breath deeply the scent of pure air. Leaves were covered with tiny rain drops that sparkled,  though day was overcasted.

image

I could not stop thinking how different if it’s from Lithuania. My family is outdoor lovers,  so believe me,  I often spend time in forests and fields.  So the forest itself was just like Lithuanian – lots of different kind of trees,  moss and bushes. Lots of insects,  especially after reason.  We followed a small river, full of rocks.  Ducks swam here and there,  we saw a few swans.  But,  on the other hand,  I could never see such banks in Lithuania.  They were very high and steep,  covered with sharp rocks. Simply beautiful. I have a huge affection for mountains. Rhett were no mountains in the park,  but it was more like it than anything in Lithuania. Don’t understand me wrong,  i live my homeland,  but it’s very beautiful in other countries as well. Oh,  and I drove back from Park to Höganäs.  I have never been so afraid to drive.  The car worked fine and it’s a pleasure to drive it,  but it was completely new car for me,  new road (new country, actually) and if that’s not enough – I had somebody’s else child in the back. Yay!

After our trip we shopped some food and had lunch.  Then father changed mother at the boutique, while I and Edgar watched a movie. It was Lego movie about Betman! Yeah, I have heard about that new Lego movie (who haven’t? ), but it looks like there are even more of them! Jessica suggested to “Ta det lungt och gör vad du vill” (take it easy and do what I want), what I did.  Although it’s not easy to go to my room and try to occupy myself with something,  when there is so many things to do,  to try and to see.  I really wanted to go and explore the town,  but I decided to leave it for tomorrow.

Oh,  and the last thing.  Swedish! Oh,  my god! Shit. Shit. Shit. It’s not that I don’t understand them (although I not always catch what the father says to me,  and I have to listen very carefully to understand the kid – he speaks in Skåne’s accent, while I’m used to more “bookish” Stockholm’s). I tend to forget so many words and phrases! Sometimes I have to think for a minute before saying something, because I’m not sure which word to use.  And I often forget is the subject “en” or “ett” and I make mistakes with adjectives (mostly because that “en”/”ett” thing) and plural subject forms (there might be two categories of “en” words endings in plural). And irregular verbs. I’m stupid, stupid,  stupid.  God help me.  I try to fix my mistakes and ask new words,  but I forget them after five minutes if I not repeat them for 20 times.  And usually I don’t.  Oh, and worst of all is that the family is very understanding and they don’t fix my mistakes,  barely the rudest ones.  Tomorrow I will have my phone with me all the time – I havea great Swedish dictionary there l maybe it will help.

Wish me good luck tomorrow!

Author: Alatea

Looking at the days that passed, I cannot say to be happy for everything i did. I missed so many chances! I filled my days with ordinary stuff and let days to pass by. It's easy to forget that we live only once. And I would love to promise not to live like this anymore, to change, to follow my dreams. But it's not so easy. We live and make mistakes. Break promises. Forget what we said to remember forever. I'm not saying that i'm not willing t o change things. I am. But it's not that easy. I can only try.

Leave a Reply

